Home > Drivers > Taxi drivers

Taxi drivers

We administer a strong driver accreditation regime to ensure those behind the wheel of a commercial passenger vehicle are suitable to provide safe and reliable services to the Victorian Community.

Drivers of all commercial passenger vehicles, including taxis, are regulated via a common commercial passenger vehicle driver accreditation scheme.

This section contains information for prospective taxi drivers including driver accreditation and training.

Becoming a taxi driver

In order to drive a taxi, you must hold the appropriate accreditation for the zone you wish to drive in. There are four separate taxi zones:

  • Metropolitan
  • Urban and large regional
  • Regional
  • Country.

In order to apply for accreditation, you must submit completed documentation and relevant fees to the TSC. See Applications for driver accreditation for details on the process.

New applicants applying to drive a taxi in the Metropolitan or Urban and Large Regional zones will also need to complete the Knowledge test. To find out more please see the Knowledge page.

Related information